Lily Allen hits out at Misogyny in the Music Industry with New Song ‘Hard Out There’

“You’ll find me in the studio and not in the kitchen”

Earlier today, Lily Allen made a grand comeback to the music industry with her new song and video ‘Hard Out There’.

The song and its accompanying video makes a bold statement to the growing presence of sexism and misogyny in the music industry and tackles issues such as weight, image and sexualisation.

References are made to current examples of the poor treatment of women in music, including a direct nod to Robin Thicke’s derogatory music video for hit song ‘Blurred Lines’. Controversially, Allen’s video boasts a sign that says “Lily Allen has a baggy pussy” – mocking one that appears in Thicke’s video stating “Robin Thicke has a big dick”.

While the lyrics and content in the video make for uncomfortable viewing, I say good. As I watched the video I found myself cringing away from the screen and I realised that this was the point. As Allen sings shocking lyrics like “if I tell you about my sex life, you’d call me a slut” and shows herself receiving liposuction to get rid of the weight she gained from having children, you become aware through the sheer awkwardness of her statements how women have been portrayed in the media. Are we supposed to feel uncomfortable that she says if we’re not a size 6 we’re not good enough? Yes. Because it’s wrong.

But how come it takes as much as a woman saying this in irony and parody to make us realise that it’s wrong?

As I watched women, scantly clad on screen shaking their arses and pouring champagne across their stick thin bodies, I became more aware than ever of the growing misogyny in not only the music industry but society in general. I’m talking about the ever growing lad culture I see every day and I’m glad to see that more and more women are standing for change.

Kate Nash has done it, Lily Allen has now done it and so have many others. I hope more artists feel the need to emphasise the poor treatment of women in music so that eventually we can eradicate such behaviour.

Way to go Lil, well said.

Leave a Reply

