Recommended Song of the Day #7: Hear You Me – Jimmy Eat World

It’s time I came clean.

It’s already March of 2014 and I have yet to write a single blog post this year.

The truth is, this has already been one of the hardest years of my life. With the stresses of university work and my new job that I started in December, I’ve not put aside enough time to sit and write about the one thing I’m most passionate about – music. I truly regret it.

Aside from that, this year I lost one of the most important people in my life. On February 10th, my grandmother sadly passed away. She was honestly one of the most inspirational, brave, kind and strong people I have ever met. Her passing, and indeed the news of her terminal illness, affected me in a larger way than I ever thought. I loved her with all my heart and soul, and I will never forget her kindness and love for her family. I miss her every day and I am thankful each day for being so lucky to have known her.

Because of this and the aforementioned reasons, my work ethic and ability to find the will to sit down and write has suffered. But no more. Back to the music.

Music has the ability to heal the soul, mend hearts, build strength and courage. And that’s what it has given me.

So the song I chose to write about – to get me back into the swing of things – is a song that I have adored since the first time I decided to pick up the album ‘Bleed American’ and embrace the hard and reviving sounds of Jimmy Eat World.

‘Hear You Me’ is a song about loss and regret. Each lyric pours out endless amounts of uncensored emotion and pain, I relate to it so much now that I have truly experienced grief and the pain of losing someone you love so dearly.

“There’s no one in town I know, you gave us some place to go. I never said thank you for that, thought I might get one more chance. What would you think of me now, so lucky, so strong, so proud? I never said thank you for that, now I’ll never have a chance. May angels lead you in. Hear you me my friends. On sleepless roads the sleepless go. May angels lead you in.”

The lyrics are honest and pure, enough to get anyone through the most terrible of losses, even if it’s just enough to make you cry through the pain. Jimmy Eat World have found a way to translate the feeling of grief, depression and regret so perfectly that I can’t help but be unequivocally grateful that this song exists.

If you do anything today, listen to this beautiful song. And remember those you’ve lost. I remember my grandmother every day and I will spend the rest of my life trying to make her proud.

So this one’s for you Granny. I love you.

May angels lead you in.

Leave a Reply

