My Top 5 Record Store Day Picks

Record Store Day approaches once again, and on this magical day audiophiles across the country scrap with their peers over rarities and special editions that are available to buy for one day only – that is, if you discount those fiendish eBay hoarders.

Few annual music events cause quite the stir. Record Store Day ensures that music lovers of all ages set their alarms for 5am in order to secure the best place possible in the queue at their local record store. Because if you’re not there earlier, your chances of bagging that limited edition re-release of your favourite album, on coloured, heavy-weight vinyl with a special songbook is slim to none, my friend. It’s harsh, but true.

While the list of RSD releases is somewhat endless, there’s always at least a couple of vinyls on there which catch your eye. For me, this year heavily outweighs the appeal of RSD 2013, and here’s my top 5 buys from this years exclusive list:

Paramore – ‘Ain’t It Fun’ (12″ / Atlantic)

It’s no secret that my love for Paramore is unfathomable. But despite my bias, I consider this record to be one of this years best picks, mainly because it looks so freakin’ cool. I mean look at it! It’s a thing of beauty.

Inspired by the video for the same single, the ‘Ain’t It Fun’ Record Store Day release is one half of a broken 12″. Yes, you heard me right. The beautiful single still plays as normal though, and I think it’s an excellent addition for anyone’s collection. Because how many broken, yet perfectly playable, records do you have in your collection? Huh?

Note: It is to my understanding however that the Paramore – Ain’t it Fun vinyl won’t be arriving in time for many stores participating in this year’s Record Store Day (if not all of them) due to delayed shipping. According to the official RSDUK Twitter, the vinyls will arrive later next week.

Haim – ‘Forever’ (10″ / Polydor)

This one’s a big’un for me simply because I’m so into Haim right now it hurts. I think these girls have the potential to go so far and I hope that they don’t fall into the same trap as many indie bands of the past few years and follow up their cracking debut with something disappointing.

While it’s not the most remarkable vinyl in the world, I’m yet to own a 10″ vinyl, plus I’m willing to bet that Haim’s sound is just divine on a record. A big thumbs up from me.

Muppet Movie – Original Soundtrack (12″ / Walt Disney)

Everybody loves The Muppets. Don’t even pretend that you don’t, because you do, I know it. So what better than to have the original soundtrack on 12″ vinyl? It’s a piece of history, if anything.

This record hasn’t been released on vinyl record for 35 years and what better way to celebrate the fact that The Muppets are still alive and kicking – their film Muppets: Most Wanted having just appeared on the big screen this year – than to own the original movie soundtrack.

Paul Weller – Brand New Toys (7″ / Virgin)

I’m a sucker for the Mod Father, as you all should be too. And this little treasure should be a nice treat for RSD this year, since it has been over 2 years since Weller last released an album – 2012’s ‘Sonik Kicks’. In support of his new compilation album, part two to his previous ‘Modern Classics’, ‘More Modern Classics’ will be covering all of his greatest hits from 1998 to the present day.

What a way to welcome back the mighty Paul Weller than with an exclusive, new song to enjoy as music should be enjoyed – played upon a turntable, no less.

Damon Albarn – Hollow Ponds/Lonely Press Play (7″ / Parlophone)

Having already heard ‘Lonely Press Play’ I have to say I’m looking forward very much to Blur frontman, Damon Albarn’s first solo album. It’s quirky, weird and hypnotising all at once and I really enjoy it. I think that this 7″ will be one of the first to sell out, both from die hard Blur fans and also those of us who are eagerly anticipating Albarn’s album. Should be a good one.

Leave a Reply

